To the Dear Departed

by imperialvirtue

Pietro’s poem entered in the contest for Janon.

How could this all have come to pass?

That all of you I did outlast?

Even as I stand here today

I pray that you all found your Way.

This verse cannot contain my grief

Forgive me. I shan’t keep to brief.

 

Goodbyes stick in my throat, I’m a lover left behind.

Elspeth and Steffan, unfairly taken from me,

Cruel Reaper forced us apart and all my joys perished.

Dear lights of my eyes I think of you daily.

 

Of your fierce will Elspeth, stronger than the hardest steel

And your wild hair more golden than the setting sun.

O Steffan, I crave your honey-sweet kisses now gone,

I bear the lasting reminder of our folly.

 

Now three years thence here I stand alone my grief renewed,

As Death trades one city’s heartbreak for another.

My city, the glittering jewel of Sarvos is overrun.

Alas! I weep lest the Grendel ransacked my home.

 

O Mother O Father, is it true? Have you left me?

No. I abandoned thee! I lost my Way these past years.

Walking through the Labyrinth you have all found your Way.

Memories of you shall help me find mine some day.